I love this light bulb!

LED vs. IncandescentIt’s a new LED by Philips that very well matches the color quality of our beloved round incandescent bulbs, yet use one sixth the energy – thereby leapfrogging compact fluorescents in both energy savings and reliable light quality – and in the process, win the Department of Energy’s L Prize. Best part, they’ve been designed to screw into our standard sockets.

Build a Better Bulb for a $10 Million Prize by Eric A. Taub and Leora Broydo Vestel brings us the story.

Of course they’ll cost an arm and a leg at first. But like other new technology we should expect the costs to precipitously drop. I just want to get my hands on one to test it out. They don’t seem to have hit the dealers yet. But when I do find one I’ll report back my – informal – results.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “I love this light bulb!”

  1. aquarium led lighting Says:

    aquarium led lighting…

    […]I love this light bulb! « Checklist Toward Zero Carbon[…]…

  2. Psychic Says:

    Psychic…

    […]I love this light bulb! « Checklist Toward Zero Carbon[…]…

  3. lg lp173wd1 Says:

    lg lp173wd1…

    […]I love this light bulb! « Checklist Toward Zero Carbon[…]…

  4. sexo diverção e mioto mais Says:

    sexo diverção e mioto mais…

    […]I love this light bulb! « Checklist Toward Zero Carbon[…]…

  5. Reynold Hughr Says:

    I really like these kind of bulbs but I want to know that what is The Cause Of Light Bulb Failure?
    Led Lights Bulbs

  6. Best Compact Fluorescent Light Bulb Guide « Checklist Toward Zero Carbon Says:

    […] Checklist Toward Zero Carbon « I love this light bulb! […]

Leave a Reply

